Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Over One Hundred Years

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Stephen Paulus

Stephen Paulus

General Info

Year: 2000 / 2002
Duration: c. 17:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $120.00   |   Score Only (print) - $9.95


1. Quiet Beginnings
2. Reflections
3. Driving Forces


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Brake Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-hat
  • Ratchet
  • Roto-tom
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal (large)
  • Tam-tam
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-toms
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Blocks (high, medium, low)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The title, Over One Hundred Years, suggests multiple meanings for this work, which I was asked to write for the St. Olaf Band by its conductor, Timothy Mahr. The work was commissioned by The Miles Johnson Endowment (established in honor of Mahr's predecessor, Professor Miles Johnson) to commemorate the 125th anniversary of the founding of St. Olaf College. My intent was to honor not only the college, but also the band, which has given programs going back to at least the 1890s.

The title pertains directly and literally to the longevity of this distinguished ensemble. It also suggests much more in that a milestone of over one hundred years demands some thinking, some ruminating, and some reflection on how an organization is able to continue to excel over such an expanse of time.

My thoughts were that great ideas have often started with relatively quiet and humble beginnings. This provided the motivation for the opening movement, which begins very quietly with a trio of clarinets played over trombones and snare drum. The movement picks up from there and eventually ends in a rhythmic and rather boisterous fashion. It all emanates from "quiet beginnings."

The middle movement exploits the lyrical nature of many of the wind instruments. The title is meant to suggest that success, thriving and excelling over a period of years, demands some reflection both to reason about how it was all accomplished and also to simply enjoy the achievements. Throughout this movement there are many moments when instrumental families overlap, creating merging textures of color and timbre.

The final movement is highly kinetic and energetic, with many mixed meters and an animated propulsion that drives the movement. Its title (Driving Forces) suggests that the factors which make for excellence in the ensemble are the same ones that motivate the college, and that these "driving forces" were as much a part of the genesis and founding of the college as they are a part of today's thriving scene. The title of the third movement also pays homage to Miles "Mity" Johnson, the conductor of the St. Olaf Band (1957-1994), and the driving force during its rise to national and international renown. A chorale-like melody in the low brasses and bassoons, under pulsating winds and horns, drives the work to its triumphant close with a series of instrumental flourishes.

- Program note from composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


None discovered thus far.

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Stephen Paulus website Accessed 15 April 2020
  • Paulus, S. (2002). Over One Hundred Years [score]. Paulus Publications: [United States].