On Wings of Magic

From Wind Repertory Project
Naoya Wada

Naoya Wada

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C L Barnhouse
Cost: Score & Parts - $68.00   |   Score Only - $7.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
French Horn I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Japanese composer Naoya Wada's newest composition is full of rhythmic energy and vitality. Scored to help mid-level bands perform at their highest level, the technical demands are reasonable, but the musical rewards will be great. All sections have interesting parts and a large number of parts will keep even the largest percussion section involved and interested.

On Wings of Magic was commissioned by and is dedicated to the Yahata Minami High School Band (Fukuoka, Japan), Hirofumi Matsumoto and Midori Shinmei, directors.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Northeastern Wisconsin (Marinette) Concert Band (Robert Berndt, conductor) – 5 May 2019

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works