Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Ole Schmidt

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ole Schmidt


Ole Schmidt (14 July 1928, Copenhagen, Denmark – 6 March 2010, Marciac, France) was a Danish composer and conductor.

Schmidt first appeared as a jazz pianist and later studied at the Royal Danish Conservatory in Copenhagen. Schmidt was a conductor at the Royal Danish Ballet (1958-1965) and was principal conductor of the Hamburg Symphony Orchestra (1959-1960). He later led the Danish Radio Concert Orchestra (1971-1973) and the Artus Symphony Orchestra (1978-1985). From 1990-1995, he was principal guest conductor of the Toledo Symphony Orchestra. Schmidt was the first conductor to record all of Carl Nielsen’s symphonies.

He composed music for orchestra, chamber music, film music and several stage works.

Works for Winds