Old Ironsides (arr. Patterson)

From Wind Repertory Project
John Philip Sousa

John Philip Sousa (realized and scored by Donald Patterson)

General Info

Year: 1926 / 2020
Duration: c. 2:40
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: U.S. Marine Band
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) – Free download


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornets Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1926, patriotic citizens noted the deterioration of the historic old frigate Constitution, better known as "Old Ironsides," and waged a vigorous campaign to have it restored. At a rally held in Madison Square Garden, enough money was raised to ensure success of the movement. For that occasion, Sousa composed this march. He led the massed bands of the U.S. Navy, Marine Corps and Army, but whether the new march was played is not certain. Oddly, the march was never published, and only a manuscript sketch is known to exist [until recent arrangements].

- Program Note from John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bierley, P. (1973). John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works. University of Illinois Press; Urbana, pp. 63.
  • Perusal score