Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Old Ironsides

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
John Philip Sousa

John Philip Sousa (reconstructed and arranged by David Lovrien and James Gann)

General Info

Year: 1926 / 1999 / 2007
Duration: c. 2:25
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Lovebird Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I
Flute II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass/Contrabassoon
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Chimes
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1926, patriotic citizens noted the deterioration of the historic old frigate Constitution, better known as "Old Ironsides," and waged a vigorous campaign to have it restored. At a rally held in Madison Square Garden, enough money was raised to insure success of the movement. For that occasion, Sousa composed this march. He led the massed bands of the U.S. Navy, Marine Corps and Army, but whether the new march was played is not certain. Oddly, the march was never published, and only a manuscript sketch is known to exist [until recent arrangements].

- Program Note from John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Texas (Denton) Wind Ensemble (Nicholas E. Williams, conductor) – 26 September 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bierley, P. (1973). John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works. University of Illinois Press; Urbana, pp. 63.