Old Brenton Carol

From Wind Repertory Project
Gustav Holst

Gustav Holst (setting Robert W Smith)

This work is the first movement of the arranger's Holst Winter Suite.

General Info

Year: 1910 / 2002
Duration: c. 2:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $70.00   |   Score Only - $9.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Old Brenton Carol is based upon Come Ye Lofty, which was originally harmonized by Gustav Holst in 1910. The original Holst setting was included in his Christmas Day for chorus and orchestra.

Inspired by the many works of Gustav Holst, Robert W. Smith has provided this setting for concert band. The work is dedicated to the memory of Ms. Alta Sue Hawkins, a gifted musician and teacher, who first introduced Mr. Smith to the sacred works of Holst.

-Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Western Illinois University (Macomb) Concert Band (Matt Thomas, conductor) - 5 December 2022
  • Pleasanton (Calif.) Community Concert Band (H. Robert Williams, conductor) - 30 November 2014
  • Magee Wind Ensemble (Vancouver, B.C.) - 20 December 2012

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Music