Of my dream before me

From Wind Repertory Project
Dana Wilson

Dana Wilson

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 14:45
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Violin and piano
Publisher: Dana Wilson
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


1. No longer the light
2. I lie down in the shadow
3. Bright like a sun


Full Score
Solo Violin
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

For years I have loved the poetry of Langston Hughes, particularly for its vivid imagery and powerful drama. A Black poet, he was very connected to, and inspired by, jazz, which has also always been a dramatic influence on my musical thinking and general philosophy.

The titles of each of the movements of this work were taken from Hughes' poem As I Grew Older, in part so that its inspiration and lyric drama could be explored. The work asks the violinist to be both introspective and intensely outreaching, and for the ensemble to both embrace and react.

I am grateful to violinist James Stern and conductor Michael Votta, who first brought the piece to life and understood so clearly its nature.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

A complete list of Dana Wilson's compositions may be found here: