Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Octet for Woodwinds

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Baksa

Robert Baksa

General Info

Year: 1972 / 1994
Duration: c. 18:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Theodore Presser
Cost: Score and Parts - $51.25


1. Moderato
2. Andante
3. Presto


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The whole piece has harmonic and rhythmic similarities to the wind music of Richard Strauss. According to the score, it is the composer’s “most performed large scale chamber work” (Baksa 1994).

The first movement is in sonata allegro form in the key of Eb. The introduction is followed by the melody in the second bassoon in m. 6. The development occurs in m. 61 with the recapitulation at m. 125, and the coda at m. 171. The introduction to the Andante contains short cadenza-like passages in solo voices, with the melody in the first clarinet at rehearsal A. The middle section starts at rehearsal C with a rhythmic motive of sixteenth note, thirty-second note rest, and thirty-second note. At rehearsal G the first theme comes back in the flute. The third movement is quite similar to the finale movement of Mozart’s Serenade No. 11 in terms of character and key.



To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Arizona (Tucson) Chamber Winds (Chad R. Nicholson, conductor) - 26 February 2022
  • Hodgson Winds (University of Georgia, Athens) (Tyler Erhlich, conductor) – 15 September 2015

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Baksa, R. (1994). Octet for woodwinds [score]. Bryn Mawr, PA: Composer Library Editions.
  • Winther, R. (2004). An annotated guide to wind chamber music: For six to eighteen players. Miami: Warner Bros. Publications Inc.