Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Octet (Liptak)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Liptak

David Liptak

Subtitle: It Began with a Dream

General Info

Year: 2005 / 2015
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: American Composers Alliance
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $54.95   |   Score Only (print) - $27.95


1. It Began with a Dream
2. Scherzo
3. Fantasia
4. Finale


Full Score
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Trombone I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The instrumentation for Octet – flute, clarinet, two bassoons, two trumpets, and two trombones – is taken from Igor Stravinsky’s famous Octet for Wind Instruments from 1922. The title alludes to Stravinsky’s well-known remarks about his composing this piece: “The Octour began with a dream. I found myself (in my dream state) in a small room surrounded by a small number of instrumentalists who were playing some very agreeable music. .....I looked again and saw that they were playing bassoons, trombones, trumpets, a flute, and a clarinet."

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Eastman School of Music (Rochester, N.Y.) Wind Ensemble (Kevin Holzman, conductor) – 1 April 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer