Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Carl Reinecke

Carl Reinecke (arr. Don Stewart)

This work bears the designation Opus 216.

General Info

Year: 1892 / 1904 / 1989
Duration: c. 21:10
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Edwin F. Kalmus
Cost: Score and Parts (print) – $30.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


1. Allegro moderato - 8:20
2. Scherzo: Vivace – 3:20
3. Adagio ma non troppo – 5:35
4. Finale: Allegro molto e grazioso – 5:25


Full Score
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Horn in F I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Reinecke’s Octet in B-flat Major was written possibly at the request of Paul Taffanel for his “Société de musique de chambre pour instruments à vent” in 1892.

This romantic work for winds is set in four movements. The first movement takes us on an exploration through various contrasting moods, from a contemplative beginning, through a rising, joyful B-flat major first theme, to a darker, falling second theme in D minor. Reinecke develops the work through stretching and changing both themes through various keys and moods, ending with a sudden jolt of energy back in the tonic key.

- Program Note by Nicolás Ayala Cerón for the New England Conservatory Symphonic Winds concert program, 9 December 2020

Commercial Discography

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • West Virginia (Morgantown) University Chamber Wind Ensemble (John Weigand, conductor) - 9 March 2021
  • New England Conservatory (Boston, Mass.) Symphonic Winds (Nicolás Ayala Cerón, conductor) - 3 February 2021
  • University of Cincinnati (Ohio) College-Conservatory of Music Chamber Winds (Kevin Michael Holzman, conductor) – 9 February 2020
  • University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Concert Band (Richard Frey, conductor) – 5 February 2020
  • University of Utah (Salt Lake City) Wind Ensemble (Eric LaPrade, conductor) – 6 February 2018
  • University of Southern California Thornton Wind Ensemble (H. Robert Reynolds, conductor) - 10 February 2017
  • West Virginia University (Morgantown) Chamber Winds – April 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Reinecke, C.; Stewart, D. (1989). Octet, Opus 216 [score]. International Music Co.: New York.