Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

O Magnum Mysterium (Victoria)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Tomas Luis de Victoria

Tomas Luis de Victoria (arr. Mast)

General Info

Year: c. 1572 / 2007
Duration: 4:30
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alliance Publications
Cost: Score & Parts - $90.00   |   Score Only - $15.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

O Magnum Mysterium was published in 1572 in Venice as part of Victoria's first book of motets. It was dedicated to the Cardinal-Archbishop of Augsburg, Otto von Truchsess von Waldburg, who was Victoria's greatest supporter. The work features several characteristics of Victoria's style, which included an unusual amount of chromatic harmonies compared to his contemporaries and unusual and abrupt contrasts.

The Latin text of O Magnum Mysterium has been set by countless composers through the ages and speaks of the mystery of the birth of Christ.

O great mystery and
admirable (wonderful) sacrement
That animals see the Lord born
Lying in a manger.
Blessed virgin whose viscera (i.e. womb)
Were worthy to bear Lord Christ

-Literal English Translation

Program Note from Printed Score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


None discovered thus far.