O Cool Is the Valley

From Wind Repertory Project
Vincent Persichetti

Vincent Persichetti

Subtitle: Poem for Band (After a poem by James Joyce)

This work bears the designation Opus 118.

General Info

Year: 1972
Duration: c. 6:15
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Elkan Vogel, Inc / Theodore Presser Company
Cost: Score and Parts - $60.00   |   Full Score Only - $5.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbal (suspended)
  • Snare Drum (wire brushes)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

O Cool Is the Valley parallels the mood of the James Joyce poem. It is a colorful but quiet piece requiring meaningful melodic playing and sensitive playing. The opening motive generates the pastoral musical textures of two contrasting themes.

This piece was premiered by the Bowling Green University Band on February 5, 1972, with the composer conducting. It was commissioned by the Ohio Music Education Association.

- Program Notes from score


State Ratings

  • Texas: IV. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Texas Tech University (Lubbock) Concert Band (Joel Pagán, conductor) - 25 September 2023
  • Arizona State University (Tempe) Maroon and Gold Band (James G. Hudson, conductor) - 25 April 2023
  • University of Central Florida (Orlando) Symphonic Band (Scott Mullen, conductor) - 7 October 2021
  • New England Conservatory (Boston) Senior Massachusetts Youth Wind Ensemble (Allison Lacasse, conductor) – 21 February 2020 (France Performance Tour)
  • Salem Band (Winston Salem, N.C.) (Eileen Young, conductor) - 4 February 2020
  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Concert Band (Jason H. Nam, conductor) – – 1 October 2019
  • North Idaho College (Coeur d'Alene) Wind Symphony (Bryan Hannaford, conductor) – 20 March 2019
  • State University of New York, Potsdam, Concert Band (James T. Madeja, conductor) – 19 November 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Persichetti, V. (1972). O Cool Is the Valley: Poem for Band (after a Poem by James Joyce) [score]. Elkan-Vogel, Inc.: Bryn Mawr, Penn.