Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

OK Feel Good

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jonathan Newman

Jonathan Newman

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: VII (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: OK Feel Good Music
Cost: Parts (Rental) - $300.00   |   Score Only (Purchase) - $34.00


Full Score
Piccolo I-II
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Trombone III (bass)
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
Contrabass (and/or Electric Bass)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Conga
  • Cowbells (4)
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Guiro
  • Maracas
  • Marimba
  • Roto-Toms
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes (glass)
  • Wood Blocks (5)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

OK Feel Good is the result of an opportunity to write for the Aspen Contemporary Ensemble. The friendship and camaraderie I experienced that summer imposed itself onto my writing—so the work grew into a colorful rhythmic playground, presented with a grin and a wink. In 1999, at the request of Eric Whitacre, I transcribed the work for winds and percussion. My wish is that the original sense of glorified game-show music has been unaltered, and hopefully even amplified.

- Program Notes by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Atlanta (Ga.) Youth Wind Symphony (Scott A. Stewart, conductor) - 01 December 2007
  • Georgia State University Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Robert Ambrose, conductor) - 16 November 2006
  • University of Kansas Wind Ensemble (John Lynch, conductor) - 05 November 2006

Works for Winds by This Composer