Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

O'Neal Douglas Jr

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
O'Neal Douglas, Jr.


O'Neal Douglas, Jr. (1963) is an American composer.

Dr. Douglas holds a Doctor of Musical Arts degree from Michigan State University, a Master of Music degree from Central Michigan University, and a Bachelor of Arts degree from Louisiana Tech University. He has also done graduate studies at the University of Mississippi. O’Neal has studied composition with Mark Sullivan, David Gillingham, Jere Hutcheson, and Augusta Read Thomas.

Dr. Douglas composes for a variety of vocal and instrumental musical ensemble types including wind band, orchestra, choir, or chamber music. He has received numerous commissions, and his compositions have been performed throughout the United States and Europe.

Recent projects have included Harriet for Symphonic Winds inspired by Harriet Tubman’s work with the Underground Railroad, commissioned by the Montclair State University Symphonic Winds, Thomas McCauley director, and Two Allusions for Percussion Ensemble and Winds, commissioned by the Milliken University Percussion Ensemble, Brian Justison, director.

In 2001, Douglas was the recipient of Louisiana Tech University's "Bandsman of the Year" Award, given annually to outstanding alumni. He is a two-time winner of the Michigan State University College of Music Honors Competition in Composition, once for Singing Tree, premiered in April 2007 by the MSU Symphony Band, and for Tapestry, premiered in December 2008, by the Michigan State University Wind Symphony.

Dr. Douglas is currently lecturer of music theory at Xavier University, New Orleans, Louisiana. He is affiliated with ASCAP, American Composers Forum, Phi Mu Alpha, Kappa Kappa Psi, and Phi Beta Mu.

Works for Winds


  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 311.
  • O'Neal Douglas website Accessed 22 August 2016