From Wind Repertory Project
Stacey J. Berk

Stacey J. Berk

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 6:05
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Cocobolo Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II (div.)
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (div.)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks (5)
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes (metal)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A nova explosion occurs when a small, old dwarf star siphons gases off from a larger, younger neighboring star. As the gases form on the dwarf star’s surface, intense hydrogen pressure builds. When the heat and pressure reach a climax, the outer layers of hydrogen are blown off the star in a brilliant explosion. The effects of the explosion gradually fade and the siphoning process begins anew.

- Program Note from publisher

Novae was composed as a programmatic work for symphonic concert band, an ensemble that has both the power and the delicacy necessary to convey the sonic impression of the explosion of a star in deep space.

The form of Novae is based on the arch form suggested by the process of a nova. The work begins with a piccolo solo that represents the faint glow of a star in the distance, then builds to a climax with the explosion, and gradually fades once again to a glimmer. The harmonic language is based on two different five-note scales, each representing one of the two stars in the binary system.

Novae was commissioned by Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Jack Stamp, conductor of university bands.

- Program Note from Cocobolo Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • The Horizon Leans Forward..., compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 264.
  • Stacey Berk website Accessed 31 December 2020