Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Cindy McTee

Cindy McTee

General Info

Year: 2016 / 2018
Duration: c. 5:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Brass ensemble
Publisher: Bill Holab Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $200.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II (may be doubled)
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-Tom, small
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibra-slap


In Score:

  • B-flat Tenor Sax, m. 21: The D printed on the second half of beat two should be on beat three.

In Part:

  • Percussion III, m. 47-48: This tambourine part is completely missing from the part.

In Score and Part:

  • Flute II, m. 20: Missing a full length slur.
  • Flute I & II, m. 119-127: Missing staccato markings, although they are present in the other ostinatos.
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet II & III, m. 20: Missing a full length slur.

- Errata from Tyler Ehrlich Website

Program Notes

Notezart (2017) was originally commissioned by the Brass and Percussion Ensemble of the National Orchestra of Lyon. The wind symphony version is dedicated to Eugene Migliaro Corporon – friend, conductor and devoted champion of new music.

I very much enjoy finding a way to make various kinds of music live together. So in this piece, you will hear 12-tone passages along with quartal, quintal and triadic harmony. To create unity, I use a steady pulse throughout and a strong reliance on the interval of a perfect 4th that opens the third movement from Mozart’s Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, my inspiration for Notezart. My “stolen” music (the work’s centerpiece) is cast in a quasi-Renaissance style – with the exception of the duet between trumpet and trombone, more in keeping with an eighteenth-century variation.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Carolina Chapel Hill Wind Ensemble (Evan Feldman, conductor) - 16 November 2021
  • United States Coast Guard Band (New London, Conn.) (Jeffrey A. Spenner, conductor) – 15 March 2020
  • United States Air Force Band (Washington, D.C.) (Julian White, conductor) - 6 March 2020 (86th Annual ABA National Convention)
  • Atlanta (Ga.) Wind Symphony (Tyler Ehrlich, conductor) – 19 January 2019
  • Emory University (Druid Hills, Ga.) Wind Ensemble (Tyler Ehrlich, conductor) – 23 November 2019
  • Brigham Young University (Provo, Utah) Wind Symphony (Nicholas Ayala, conductor) – 1 November 2018
  • Lone Star Wind Orchestra (Dallas, Tx.) (Eugene Migliaro Corporon, conductor) – 29 April 2018
  • University of North Texas (Denton) Wind Symphony (Eugene Migliaro Corporon, conductor) – 5 April 2018 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Cindy McTee, personal correspondence, April 2018
  • Cindy McTee website Accessed 11 April 2018
  • Cummings, Paul. "Notezart." In Teaching Music through Performance in Band. Volume 12, Compiled and edited by Andrew Trachsel, 801-811. Chicago: GIA Publications, 2021.
  • The Horizon Leans Forward…, compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 418-419.
  • Tyler Ehrlich Errata List Accessed 5 November 2021
  • McTee, C. (2018). Notezart for Brass Ensemble and Percussion: 2016 [score]. Rondure Music Publishing:Bloomfield Hills, Mich.