Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Northern Lament

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Derek Bourgeois

Derek Bourgeois

General Info

Year: 1965; rev. 1997
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G and M Brand - British Music Publishers
Cost: Score & Parts - $55.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Flute I-II (piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
French Horn I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Gong (Tam-tam)
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This piece originated in the slow movement of a Sonata for Brass Quintet which I wrote in 1965 whilst still a pupil of Herbert Howells at the Royal College of Music, London. It had been commissioned by the Halle Brass Quintet, although they never performed the work. In 1997, Timothy Reynish suggested that I should arrange the work for Wind Orchestra. I decided to expand the movement into something more than double its original length, adding a fiery climax to its central section. The whole movement derives from the simple melody stated at the beginning. Because of Timothy Reynish's association with the Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester, England and because the original sonata was never played by the northern based Halle Brass Quintet who invited me to write it, I decided to call the piece Northern Lament.

Program Note by Derek Bourgeois


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Serenade (Flex instrumentation) (adapt. Brand) (1965/1980/2020)

All Wind Works


None discovered thus far.