Nocturne (Reineke)

From Wind Repertory Project
Steven Reineke

Steven Reineke

This work is the second movement of the composer's Symphony No. 1, "New Day Rising."

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 6:37
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts - $80.00   |   Score Only - $7.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Chimes
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Mark Tree
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In commemoration of the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake Centennial and dedicated to the Contra Costa Wind Symphony, in celebration of their 25th anniversary, Duane Carroll, conductor.

- Program Note from score

The second movement depicts the city on the evening of April 17th, 1906. The frenetic pace of the day has given way to a more peaceful, relaxed atmosphere. Once the city is lulled to sleep, we hear the distant sound of church bells tolling 5 a.m., the hour the earthquake struck the city. This movement is segue attacca into the third movement.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Reineke, S. (2007). Symphony No. 1: New Day Rising [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.