No Shadow of Turning

From Wind Repertory Project
David Gillingham

David Gillingham

Subtitle: Great Is Thy Faithfulness

General Info

Year: 2005
Duration: c. 8:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $120.00   |   Score Only - $20.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Handbells (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Brake Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Tom (4)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

No Shadow of Turning was commissioned by a consortium of organizations at The Ohio State University in memory of Lois Brock, beloved secretary of The Ohio State University Bands. The work is based on the hymn tune Great Is Thy Faithfulness, by Thomas O. Chisholm (words) and William M. Runyan (music).

The title of the work is taken from the second line of the first verse which perhaps sums up the meaning of the hymn and the faith held by Lois Brock. The work also features optional hand bells, as Lois Brock was an avid hand bell player in her local church.

The work begins quietly and somewhat mysteriously on a motive using the interval of the falling fourth of the refrain of the hymn. This material grows and gathers texture and then concludes softly on a rolled G major chord in the marimba. A chorale follows, played by the vibraphone and bells and/or the hand bells. I call this chorale the "Lois Brock Chorale" as it exhibits the warmness of her ever-loving spirit. An interlude follows utilizing motives from the hymn and leads to the flute playing the verse of the hymn. Pursuant to this quiet rendition is a rather aggressive section featuring the timpani and percussion that play with the opening motive of the refrain. This leads to a fugue on the same motivic material that grows in intensity and segues with the trombones playing the hymn tune in march-like style against fanfare-like motives in the trumpets. All this subsides and the hymn is now played by the trumpets against the horns playing the Lois Brock Chorale. The full band joins in on the refrain that rises to a glorious pinnacle and then concludes softly by the euphonium. The material from the introduction is then restated and leads to a final statement of the refrain followed by a peaceful and heavenly benediction.

- Program Note by composer

This is the kind of setting we have come to expect from this creative composer. Using the hymn Great Is Thy Faithfulness as a basis, we are treated to a variety of musical settings including a very effective section featuring handbells. Mallet percussion can be equally effective if handbells are not available.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Georgia: VI
  • Maryland: VI
  • Michigan: Senior High AA
  • Mississippi: VI-A


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Gillingham, D. (2005). No Shadow of Turning: Great is Thy Faithfulness [score]. C. Alan: Greensboro, N.C.