Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Natalie Williams

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Natalie Williams


Natalie Williams (b. 1977, Australia) is a composer and educator living permanently in the United States.

Dr. Williams completed her doctorate in composition at the Jacobs School of Music as a four-year doctoral fellow. Further academic training was completed with the UK Society for Music Analysis at Durham University in 2010 and studies at the Ecole Normale de Musique (Paris) summer school in July 2007, with the European American Musical Alliance. Academic teaching positions include the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, the Hugh Hodgson School of Music at the University of Georgia, the Australian National University and the Faculty of Music at the Melbourne Conservatorium.

Williams's works have been commissioned and performed by international ensembles including the Atlanta Opera, Omaha Symphony, Indiana University Chamber Orchestra, and the Plathner's Eleven Chamber Ensemble (Germany).

Major premieres include a string octet Saudade (2015), commissioned as the first new work for the Hildegard Project, a commissioning project from Musica Viva Australia, supporting women composers in contemporary music.

Natalie Williams's orchestral works have received critical acclaim, including the premiere of her first symphony Our Don by the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra on August 14, 2014, a multimedia orchestral tribute to Sir Donald Bradman AC. Her orchestral output includes sixteen orchestral commissions from ensembles including the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, and the Adelaide and Sydney Youth Orchestras.

International composition festivals have presented her music including: Florida State University International New Music Festival, the International Trumpet Guild new music recitals program, the Midwest Composers Symposium, the Society of Composers Inc., national conference and the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra's Metropolis New Music series. Composition awards include the Albert H. Maggs Award (2018), a two-time winner of the Atlanta Opera Competition (2013 and 2015), and winner of the Iron Composer competition (2010).

She is a fully represented composer at the Australian Music Centre, a member of the American Composers Forum and the Australasian Performing Rights Association.

In 2019 Natalie completed a certificate in international cultural diplomacy in Berlin and a graduate certificate in management at the Australian National University. Natalie also serves on the selection committee for the Fulbright U.S. Student Program, and has held board positions with the Society of Composers Inc. and the International Alliance for Women in Music.

Works for Winds