Mythology Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Stacy Garrop

Stacy Garrop (arranged by composer)

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 19:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Theodore Presser
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - Rental   |   Score Only (print) - $45.00

Movements may be rented and programmed separately.


1. The Lovely Sirens – 5:35
2. Penelope Waits – 5:55
3. Pandora Undone – 7:40


Full Score
Flute I-II-III-IV-V (V doubling Piccolo)
Oboe I-II-III (III doubling English Horn)
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-VI
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Brake Drum (or Ship's Bell)
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Flexatone
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Police Whistle
  • Ratchet
  • Sandpaper Blocks
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam, large
  • Temple Blocks (5)
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom-Tom (2)
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Machine
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Mythology Suite consists of three movements of my Mythology Symphony, which I arranged for large wind ensemble. The arrangements of The Lovely Sirens and Penelope Waits were commissioned by James Ripley and Carthage College for the Carthage Wind Orchestra’s 2017 Japan tour. I added Pandora Undone to complete the set; Stephen Squires and the Chicago College of Performing Arts gave the premiere of the entire Suite in February 2017.

Movement 1: The Lovely Sirens. The Sirens were sea nymphs, usually pictured as part woman and part bird, who lived on a secluded island surrounded by rocks. Their enchanting song was irresistible to passing sailors, who were lured to their deaths as their ships were destroyed upon the rocks. The Lovely Sirens presents three ideas: the Sirens’ beautiful song, an unfortunate group of sailors whose course takes them near the island, and the disaster that befalls the sailors. The sailors’ peril is represented by the Morse code S.O.S. signal (three dots, three dashes, and three dots -- represented musically by short and long rhythms). The S.O.S. signal grows increasingly more insistent and distressed as it becomes obvious that the sailors, smitten with the voices of the Sirens, are headed for their demise.

Movement 2: Penelope Waits. This quiet movement represents Queen Penelope, the faithful wife of Odysseus, as she patiently waits twenty years for her husband's return from fighting the Trojan Wars. Penelope herself is represented as an oboe. She is accompanied by the ensemble as she keeps at bay the suitors who wish to marry her and inherit her riches.

Movement 3: Pandora Undone. This movement is, in turns, both lighthearted and serious. The music depicts a young, naïve Pandora who, while dancing around her house, spies a mysterious box. She tries to resist opening it, but her curiosity ultimately gets the best of her. When she cracks the lid open and looks inside, all evils escape into the world. Dismayed by what she has done, she looks inside the box once more. She discovers hope still in the box and releases it to temper the escaped evils and assuage mankind's new burden.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Garrop, S. (2016). Mythology Suite: For Wind Ensemble [score]. Theodore Presser Co.: [King of Prussia, Penn.].
  • Perusal score
  • Stacy Garrop website Accessed 14 May 2018