Musica Morava

From Wind Repertory Project
Evžen Zámečník

Evžen Zámečník

General Info

Year: 2000
Duration: c. 13:00
Movements: Three
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alliance Publications
Cost: Score & Parts - $190.00   |   Score Only - $50.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet (Optional)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Flugelhorn or B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
French Horn I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass (Optional)
Percussion I-II-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Claves
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Snare Drum
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Musica Morava is a three movement tonal profile of the country of Moravia which is part of the Czech Republic. Composer Evžen Zámečník has captured the heroic essence of his Slavic heritage in this brilliant portrait of compositional craft and orchestration mirroring overtones of the music of Leos Janacek. It is music based on Moravian folklore and uses typical melodies, harmonies and rhythms. However, it is highly formalized.

One senses the musical voice of Janacek in Movement I - Prelude - which has a solo euphonium carrying most of the spotlight.

Movement 2 - Bells of Frydek - rings with the joy over the gift of life in memory of the church bells in his native city. The folksong Okolo Frydku cesticka (The Road around Frydek) is cited in this movement. It is important to use tubular bells in this section.

Movement 3 - Dance - delightfully expresses a great theme with exciting rhythms and harmonic colorings. It is a formalized dance from the Valassko, called a "Trnka". It has a fast tempo and fresh phrases.

Program Note from the Printed Score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer