Music for the Royal Fireworks

From Wind Repertory Project
George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel (arr. Frank Erickson)

This edition bears the title Royal Fireworks Music.

General Info

Year: 1749 / 1997
Duration: c. 7:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Frank Erickson Publication, through Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $75.00   |   Score Only - $15.50


1. Overture
2. La Paix (The Peace)
3. Bouree
4. La Rejoissance (The Joy)


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Written for an outdoor performance in 1749, Handel's Music for the Royal Fireworks exemplifies early Classical conventions of notation. Unless the edition used includes modern annotations, performers must possess an understanding of Classical performance practices, including the interpretation of dotted rhythms, trills, and articulation styles. Even if the edition is updated, the conductor and performers should invest research into appropriate practices of similar works from this era to promote a thorough understanding of proper musical style.

- Notes from Great Music for Wind Band

A classic example of a Baroque masterpiece! As with The Messiah and The Water Music, this stirring work features familiar melodies, stately rhythms, regal trumpets, and a jubilance that will raise the spirits of everyone in your audience. Scored by Frank Erickson for full concert band in four movements, this work presents a variety of tempos and styles suitable for any concert or festival performance. A superb addition to the repertoire for more advanced bands!

- Notes by publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Illinois State University Wind Symphony (Glenn Blocke, conductor) - 8 February 2015

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works