Music for the King's Delight

From Wind Repertory Project
Pierre La Plante

Pierre La Plante

Subtitle: A Suite from Centuries Past

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 6:40
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Daehn Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $86.00   |   Score Only (print) - $8.00


1. Mr. Purcell's Riggadoon
2. Music from The Theatre
3. Squire Wood's Lamentation on Refusal of His Halfpence
3. Lazy Pirate's Jig No. 1


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Mallets
  • Sleigh Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle, large
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Not only will the king be delighted, but so will the lords and ladies in the audience. This delightful suite of Mr. Purcell's Riggadoon; Over the Hills and Far Away and Lazy Pirate's Jig offers courtly pageantry, simple beauty and charming fun.

- Program Note from publisher

Music for the King's Delight is a short suite in one movement based on four pieces spanning three centuries.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Florida: III
  • Louisiana: III
  • Michigan: Senior High C
  • North Carolina: IV
  • Texas: III. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • La Plante, P.; Purcell, H.; Gay, J.; Carolan, T.; Raven, M. (2007). Music for the King's Delight : A Suite from Centuries Past [score]. Daehn Publications: New Glarus, Wisc.
  • Perusal score
  • Pierre La Plante website