Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Mr Atlas

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Andrew Rindfleisch

Andrew Rindfleisch

General Info

Year: 2006 / 2015
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manzo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $210.00   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Mr. Atlas, scored for concert band, finds its inspiration in the old Charles Atlas body building advertisements I would often find in the popular magazines and comic books available to me in childhood. In the most popular of these ads, a bully confronts a slight weakling at a beach and kicks sand in his face. Using the Atlas method, the weakling then transforms himself into a muscle bound hero of sorts. This work, then, is a kind of work of musical transformation -- from the meek to the triumphant. After an austere introduction giving a hint of what’s to come, the solo clarinet presents a lonely, principal theme. Like a muscular exercise, each musical section that follows grows in density and volume, along with the theme, arriving finally at the work’s climactic moment -- an Americana-like hymn, slowly unfolding into a triumphant conclusion.

Mr. Atlas was commissioned by the College Band Director’s National Association for a consortium of fifteen collegiate wind ensembles, and was premiered by the Georgia State University wind ensemble, Robert Ambrose, conductor.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Andrew Rindfleisch website
  • Rindfleisch, A. (2006) [2015]. Mr. Atlas: For Concert Band [score]. Manzo Music: Mayfield Village, Ohio.