Moving On

From Wind Repertory Project
Frank Ticheli

Frank Ticheli

Subtitle: For Flex Band or Flex Orchestra

From Suite Treats

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 1:20
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Unknown
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown

Instrumentation (Flexible)

Full Score
Part 1

  • Piccolo/Flute
  • Oboe
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • B-flat Trumpet
  • Violin

Part 2

  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet
  • Violin

Part 3

  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone
  • B-flat Trumpet
  • Horn in F
  • Viola

Part 4

  • Bassoon
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Horn in F
  • Cello

Part 5

  • Bassoon
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • Trombone
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • String Bass

Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Cowbell (large)
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal (medium)
  • Tam-tam (large)
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle (medium large)
  • Wood Block (medium)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Moving On is an 80-second shout for flex band or flex orchestra (or any combination therein). It was commissioned by Composers & Schools for the Hays High School Wind Ensemble, Matthew Rome, Director.

This little piece unleashes a barrage of triumphant energy. It is a shout of joy and optimism, with a bit of an attitude. As such, Moving On is playable both in concert or at festive events such as pep rallies or sporting events.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Ohio Wesleyan University (Delaware, O.) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Richard Edwards, conductor) - 12 February 2022
  • Rio Band - 8 February 2022

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works