Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Morceau Symphonique

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Alexandre Guilmant

Alexandre Guilmant (arr. Mortimer)

This work bears the designation Opus 88.

General Info

Year: ca. 1890 / 1999
Duration: c. 6:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Editions Marc Reift
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $193.00


Full Score
Solo Trombone/Euphonium
Oboe (optional)
Bassoon (optional)
E-flat Soprano Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet (optional)
B-flat Soprano Saxophone (optional)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone (optional)
E-flat Trumpet/Cornet (optional)
B-flat Cornet/Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

At the Paris conservatory around 1900 a favourable environment was created for students of the trombone, and every year a new work was commissioned as an examination piece for the students. One of these pieces was the Morceau Symphonique, op 88, by the renowned organist and composer Alexendre Guilmant. The Morceau Symphonique is listed in the catalogue of his works as a piece for trombone and piano, but, judging from the title and the way the piano part is written, there is every reason to assume that the work was originally conceived for trombone and orchestra.

- Program Note from Edition Tarrodi


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Kent State University (Ohio) Symphony Band (Kate Ferguson, conductor) – 28 February 2020
  • University of Kansas (Lawrence) Wind Ensemble (Paul Popiel, conductor; Liu Yang, trombone) – 3 February 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer