Moravian Folk Rhapsody

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Sheldon

Robert Sheldon

This work bears the designation Opus 92.

General Info

Year: 2004 / 2008
Duration: c. 8:35
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00; (digital) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Orchestra Chimes
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This new work for band is a setting of several delightful Moravian folk dances. Stoji hruska v oudoli is a fast-paced two-step dance. Rozluc se Ancicko features a clarinet solo in a mournful, yet lilting, slow 6/8 melody. Preskoda nastokrat is a highly rhythmic piece in a moderate tempo that features a brief double reed/piccolo section. Ma zlata maticka begins with an unaccompanied alto saxophone solo, then includes a folk dance that begins slowly and increases in tempo. Vojaci jedou is a proud and uplifting march in 3/4 time. U Kláštera pole ends the rhapsody with a lively 2/4 dance that builds to a rousing conclusion of this charming music from the Czech Republic.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the Camden Community Concert Band, Camden, South Carolina, Pat Wiley and Robert Wertz, conductors.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Michigan: Senior High B
  • Michigan: Junior High AA
  • North Carolina: V
  • Tennessee: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works