Momentum (Bernotas)

From Wind Repertory Project
Chris M. Bernotas

Chris M Bernotas

General Info

Year: 2014
Duration: c. 6:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $85.00; (digital) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Commissioned by the North Jersey Area Band in honor of its 50th anniversary, this work starts in a celebratory tempo with a two-measure percussion introduction leading to an exciting and powerful brass line in a syncopated rhythm. The mood quickly changes to a slow, reflective section with a change of key to A marked “thoughtfully."

- Program Note from The Instrumentalist

Commissioned by and dedicated to the North Jersey Area Band, New Jersey, in honor of the 50th anniversary of the organization. Jesse Argenziano, President, Jarred Matthes, Past President.

- Program Note from score

A strong percussion statement contributes to the joyous, celebratory feel of this driving work. The pulse is intense and the anticipation is evident with syncopation, powerful brass, and impressive technical lines that lead to many highs and lows before the final resolution. The music is always moving forward, transporting the audience along a seemingly non-stop journey.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works