Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Michael Myounghoon Lee

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Michael Myounghoon Lee


Michael Myounghoon Lee (b. 1987, Atlanta, Ga.) is a Korean-American composer and educator.

Dr. Lee's first musical experiences were through the trumpet. He is a graduate of the USC Thornton School of Music (DMA), The Juilliard School (MM), and the Eastman School of Music (BM). He has studied composition with Donald Crockett, Frank Ticheli, Samuel Adler, Ray Lustig, Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon, David Liptak, Robert Morris, and Bruno Amato.

Lee's background is in composition, theory, post-tonal analysis, and aural skills pedagogy. Eclectic in styles and notations, his music has been cited for its “rhythmical drive [and] traditional harmonic touches that are both surprising and inevitable” [Portland Herald Press], and “Elsewhere, tradition is gleefully thrown to the wind—such as with Lee’s stunning Farewell… for string quartet, with its ever-shifting rhythms, timbres, and moods” [PARMA/Navano Records].

His music has been performed by the Albany Symphony, Juilliard Orchestra, USC Thornton Symphony, and at music festivals, concert series, and composition workshops including the Bowdoin International Music Festival, Gamper Festival of Contemporary Music, Los Angeles’ Hear Now!, and Red Note Music Festival. His music has received recognition from the Baltimore Sun, Portland Herald Press, New York Chronicle, among several others.

Dr. Lee is the recipient of the Charles Ives Scholarship from the Academy of Arts and Letters, USC Sadye J. Moss Composition Prize, Arthur Friedman Prize – from Juilliard’s New Works for Orchestra Competition, ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composers Award, Winner of the 2018 New Orleans Chamber Orchestra/Spectri Sonori and An Art Artistry’s International Guitar Composition Competitions, Letter of praise from BMI in 2009 for Metropolis Concerto, 1st Prize in the 2013 NACUSA Competition, Howard Hanson Prize, and Eastman School of Music’s Bernard Rogers Memorial Prize.

Experienced teaching composition and theory, he is currently [2021] teaching at Chapman University and has taught at the USC Thornton School of Music as a lecturer of composition, theory, and individual instruction.

Works for Winds