Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Metropolis Downpour

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Darius Edwards

Darius Edwards

General Info

Year: 2019 / 2021
Duration: 5:10
Difficulty: V+ (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Saxophone Ensemble
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $120.00   |   Score Only (print) - $25.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • China Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Rainstick
  • Sizzle Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Surdo Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraslap
  • Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

I began writing Metropolis Downpour in the spring of 2017 after my final theory class at Blair School of Music. As I left the building, thunder roared from the skies as flash floods surged throughout the streets. The sky was a beautiful navy, complementing the copper roads that reflected the beams of the streetlights. On my normal route home, I passed over the I-65 and I-440 exchange which has a beautiful view of Nashville’s skyline. That’s when I found inspiration for the title itself. From there, I asked several people what came to their mind when they thought about the storms. Some of the ideas I received were chaos, mystery, tranquility and romance. With those ideas in mind, I began one of my most ambitious projects at the time.

Originally scored for sax ensemble in 2019, I decided to rewrite the work for wind ensemble in 2021. I chose to change the key to E-flat and have fallen in love with it, and I hope you enjoy the piece!

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Perusal score
  • University of Tennessee (Knoxville) Wind Ensemble concert program, 16 November 2021