Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Metro Dances

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Travis J. Weller

Travis J Weller

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $70.00; (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00;


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Brake Drum
  • Cowbells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Hi-hat
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

There is a unique aspect of driving in Pittsburgh in that you can see where you want to go, but rarely is the drive a straight shot, and the trip will likely involve a fair amount of vehicular "dancing." Metro Dances is a work in five sections that seeks to replicate such a (not uncommon) driving experience. We launch the opening section Hit the Gas! with a full cup of coffee and just a little less time than normal to reach our destination. This is followed abruptly by Traffic "Jam," which comes out of nowhere in true Pittsburgh fashion. Big Trucks appear, appropriately represented with important material for the lower winds. Next is Rush Hour, which features an optional open section with suggested solos for trumpet and alto sax. Finally, Breaking Free culminates with a brisk finish as traffic opens up and there's smooth sailing on a free and open highway.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer