Meramec Rhapsody

From Wind Repertory Project
Claude T. Smith

Claude T. Smith

General Info

Year: 1986
Duration: c. 5:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones, through Excelcia
Cost: Score and Parts - $55.00   |   Score Only - $10.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium B.C.
Euphonium T.C.
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbals
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This work is a commission by the Missouri Bandmasters Association to honor the 50th Anniversary of the MMEA. From the opening melody stated by unison flutes, 1st clarinet and 1st trumpet, the work quickly starts through a development of that melody that only this composer does so well. The writing is very "rubato" chorale style often interrupted with short allegro sections but always returning to the opening statement. There is a short flute solo passage as well as a very fluent alto sax solo. A dramatic piece that bands will enjoy playing for years to come.

- Program Notes from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works