Men of Ohio (Fillmore)

From Wind Repertory Project
Henry Fillmore

Henry Fillmore

General Info

Year: 1921
Duration: c. 2:15
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Fillmore Music House
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
D-flat Piccolo
Flute & C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
C Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Cornets Solo-I-II-III-IV
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Drums, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Fillmore dedicated this march "To the President, Warren G. Harding, and his staunch Loyalists" in 1921, the year Harding became the 29th president of the United States. Harding had played alto horn in his hometown band of Caledonia and later, in Marion, Ohio, where his family moved. He also enjoyed boxing, motoring, fishing, baseball, card playing and golfing. His high school popularity continued into adulthood, and he was elected to the state senate in 1898 and to the U.S. Congress as a senator in 1914. In 1920 the "small-town hero" took advantage of the American mood against the restrictions of the war years and ran a successful campaign for the nation's highest office. His popularity in that office was tarnished after two of his political appointees were convicted of graft and sent to prison. In an effort to regain the confidence of the populace in himself and his Republican Party members, Harding undertook a rigorous speaking schedule which left him completely exhausted. A stroke followed, and he died in August 1923.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Metropolitan Wind Symphony (Lexington, Mass). (Louis J. Buckley, conductor) – 5 November 2017

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Courage (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Clark) (1919/2003/2012)
  • His Honor March (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Clark) (1934/2014)

All Wind Works


  • Fillmore, H. (1921). Men of Ohio [score]. Fillmore Music House: Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications. pp. 205.