Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Rackley

David William Rackley

Subtitle: For Winds and Percussion

General Info

Year: 2016
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manuscript
Cost: Score and Parts – Unknown
For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Memorial is a seven-minute work using Taps as its compositional basis. Beginning softly with woodwinds spinning out themes based on the intervallic and rhythmic elements of the iconic bugle call, Memorial evokes a ceremonial atmosphere, experienced by so many at military funerals and national cemeteries. The work then builds in intensity until finally erupting into a march-like setting once again using Taps as a model. The martial aspect of Memorial returns to the solemn, reflective emotion stirred at the beginning of the piece. Finally, a lone, off- stage trumpet performs Taps in the original form so familiar to all Americans.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Ripon (Wisc.) College Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Toby Shucha, conductor) - 10 April 2022
  • San Luis Obispo (Calif.) Wind Orchestra (David Rackley, conductor) – 26 February 2017 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.