Melting of Winter's Snow

From Wind Repertory Project
Jack Stamp

Jack Stamp

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 7:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $92.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


doubling Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bell Tree
  • Bells
  • Brake Drum
  • Chimes
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Guiro
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes

Solo Soprano Voice


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

A stark opening by five brake drums in “surround sound” sets the tone for this piece for soprano and wind ensemble. Melting of the Winter’s Snow is dramatic and cold but becomes increasingly warm as the piece moves forward and ends with a majestic fanfare.

Based on text by Catherine Boyles, Melting of the Winter’s Snow is a piece for soprano and wind ensemble.

The cold of December is bitter.
The forest is silenced by ice.
The trees stand with black twisted branches,
alone under frozen gray skies.
Thoughts of warm gentle rain in the summer
and wonders our hands can't slow
like time the moon and starlight

and the melting of the winter’s snow.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Jack Stamp website Accessed 22 March 2021
  • Stamp, J.; Boyles, C. (1999). Melting of Winter's Snow [score]. C. Alan Publications: Greensboro, N.C.