Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Meditation on Amen

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Roger Zare

Roger Zare

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Roger Zare
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $70.00   |   Score Only (digital) - $15.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Meditation on "Amen" was commissioned by Darby Stanton and the Ridgeview Charter Middle School Bands in honor of the retirement of Michael Gibson, director of bands. This piece is based on one of Mike's favorite gospel hymns, Curtis Mayfield's Amen. Mayfield's upbeat tune is transformed into a dreamlike reminiscence at the beginning of the piece, with a solo clarinet singing a wistful melody. Over the course of the piece, Mayfield's Amen gradually comes into focus as melodies are passed around the ensemble, until finally the key changes and a grandiose march-like beat emerges. The whole band plays the Amen together twice before the solo clarinet brings the music to a close.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Indiana State University Wind Symphony (Nikk Pilato, conductor) - 14 October 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works