Meditation from the Opera "Thais"

From Wind Repertory Project
Jules Massenet

Jules Massenet (arr. Brand)

General Info

Year: 1894 / 2006
Duration: c. 4:55
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: G & M Brand
Cost: Score and Parts - $50.00   |   Score Only - $7.50


Full Score
Flute Solo-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Massenet’s opera Thaïs is based on the novel by Anatole France. In its original form, the Meditation is a violin solo between the third and fourth scenes of the opera. The band arrangement features a flute solo or section.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music

Massenet's romantic opera Thaïs was produced in Paris in 1894. The story is set in Thebes, Egypt, where Thaïs, a beautiful courtesan, rules the city of Alexandria by the power of her charms.

In the Meditation, originally a violin solo accompanied by a small orchestra including two harps, Massenet vividly captures the sense of allure and charm with which Thaïs beguiles her suitors, her wiles personifying the struggled between the higher and lower nature of the human race.

- Program Note from score

Thaïs, written in 1894, was the most popular of Massenet's many operas. The scene is laid in Egypt in the stormy period when Christianity was battling with paganism for supremacy, and the plot concerns the monk Athanel's attempts to convert the Egyptian priestess Thaïs to Christianity. He succeeds in his mission, but tragedy results for both when the monk falls in love with Thaïs.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Golden Gate Park Band (San Francisco, Calif.) (Michael Wirgler, conductor) – 23 April 2017
  • San Luis Obispo County (Calif.) Band (Leonard Lutz, conductor; Brynn Albanese, violin) - 16 November 2014

Works for Winds by This Composer