Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Matthew Brown

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Matthew Brown


Matthew Brown (b. 1985, Canterbury, England) is a composer and violist.

Mr. Brown learned to play the violin at the age of six, and began composing aged nine. In 2008, Matthew was the violinist in a musical comedy production by Minster Playhouse, directed by his Patisserie and Confectionary teacher, Scott Steele. Having completed his course at Thanet College, Matthew then began to study for a music degree at Canterbury Christ Church University, focusing on composition under Prof. Roderick Watkins. During his studies, he composed for many ensembles, including his acclaimed debut for wind orchestra, Encomium, which was performed in Canterbury Cathedral. In 2010, Matthew was commissioned to write a piano trio for the Canterbury Three Cities Association, which lead to two international premieres and six further performances including a performance by the Del Mar Piano Trio at the 1901 Arts Club in London. Matthew graduated in 2010 with a first class degree, winning the Cyril Philips Memorial Prize for outstanding commitment to the Music Department.

Matthew went on to study a Master of Music in composition at the Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM) under Prof. Adam Gorb and Paul Patterson, having been awarded a scholarship by the Richard Newitt and Radcliffe trusts. Whilst studying at the RNCM his string quartet ideas were workshopped and performed by the Mivos Quartet. His commission for soprano and piano, There Came a Wind Like a Bugle, was premiered at the Sounds New Contemporary Music Festival by Rhona Mckail and Yshani Perinpanayagam, and later performed at the RNCM. October 2012 saw the premiere of his one-movement work, Caelestialis, for Jessica Gillingwater (soprano) and the RNCM Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Carlos del Cueto. Towards the end of his studies, Matthew’s solo piano work, Les Sons Recules, was performed by Christian Dawson at the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester. Matthew graduated from the RNCM in 2013.

A keen violist, Matthew regularly composes for the instrument and takes part in Martin Outram’s annual Viola Day. In October 2013, Matthew was invited back to the RNCM for the premiere of his work for viola and orchestra, Three Illusions of Peganum Harmala, with soloist Paul Beckett. In 2014, Matthew went on to collaborate with his own string quartet, the Leon Quartet, for a commission, Sphagnum, which was performed to acclaim as part of the Deal Festival.

Matthew wrote his orchestral work, Beverley Meadow, for a Young Composer Workshop with the City of Rochester Symphony Orchestra. With generous support from the RVW trust, the CRSO then gave the work its first public performance in February 2017, conducted by Peter Bassano.

Matthew began a Ph.D. program in composition at RNCM in 2017, focusing on wind orchestra composition, with Adam Gorb and Paul Patterson as his supervisors, and Andy Harris as his director of studies. As well as writing Peganum Harmala for a large chamber ensemble, he has composed a Serenade for the Whittlesey Concert Band, which they performed in 2018. Matthew also created a version of Encomium for orchestra, which was performed at RNCM in autumn 2018.

Works for Winds