Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Mary Shelley Meets Frankenstein

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Erika Svanoe

Erika Svanoe

Subtitle: A Modern Promethean Tango

General Info

Year: 2014 / 2019
Duration: c. 4:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Saxophone quartet
Publisher: Swan Maiden Press
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $125.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone (optional)
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Claves
  • Drum Set
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Shakers
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Mary Shelley Meets Frankenstein: A Modern Promethean Tango imagines a scenario where the young author meets her own creation, the monster brought to life whom we colloquially refer to as “Frankenstein.” They meet, circling each other in a dance reflective of a tango. Mary is initially curious and sympathetic, while the creature pleads for compassion. In the moment when the two come together, Mary’s sympathy is overwhelmed by horror and she begins to panic, while the creature becomes furious with her rejection. With the final notes, we are left asking ourselves -- who is the real monster?

Commissioned by Andrew Boysen, Jr. and the University of New Hampshire Wind Symphony.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works