Marian Symphony

From Wind Repertory Project
Joel Blahnik

Joel Blahnik

General Info

Year: 2005
Duration: c. 12:10
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alliance Publications
Cost: Score & Parts - $100.00   |   Score Only - $20.00


Full Score
Flute I-II (Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
French Horn I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Unison Chorus (Opt.)
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Cymbal (suspended)
  • Finger Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (Tam-Tam?)
  • Snare Drum
  • Tenor Drum
  • Timbales (or Concert Tom-Toms)
  • Timpani
  • Vibraphone
  • Woodblock


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Marian Symphony was composed to honor Our Lady of Lourdes, the patron of Lourdes High School (Oshkosh, Wisconsin), through incorporation of three of the most famous hymns sung throughout the world in honor of Mary, the Mother of God, beginning with the Old Carmelite Latin text, Salve Mater Misericordiae, with its Gregorian Fifth mode chant to the the 19th century hymns, Hail, Holy Queen Enthroned Above and Immaculate Mary, whose tune is known as the "Lourdes Hymn". This twelve-minute, four-movement work begins with a presto celebratory announcement tapering off to a piano in the woodwinds, which prepare the listener for Movement II which the solo saxophone quartet is featured supporting the singing (optional) of the Latin chant, Salve Mater, with its two verses and refrain. The element of mystery is uniquely captured in Movement III with slow glissandos in the trombones, the use of vibes, wood block, suspended cymbal, timbales, and trilling clarinets and flutes, supporting a solo alto saxophone motif.

Movement IV is the longest and most developed movement incorporating the two hymns together. This allegro spiritoso movement begins with the rhythm of timpani, snare and bass drum, and hand claps, while the trio of trumpets herald the upcoming hymn tunes and are joined by the woodwinds in a flourishing pattern before the singing of Hail, Holy Queen Enthroned Above by voices (Optional) and/or instruments. Three verses are provided (use as desired). A soft transition follows leading into a spirited preparation for the Lourdes Hymn, Immaculate Mary, which is through composed. Brass and percussion are optional for the first verse, thinning the texture to the woodwinds (minus saxophones). Verse two uses only the saxophones, setting us up for all the instruments in a grandioso rendition of the singing of verse three making it a fitting act of praise from musicians and audience alike.

Marian Symphony was commissioned by LAMP for Lourdes High School Concert Band, Oshkosh, Wisconsin, Jon JC Basten, conductor.

Program Note from Published Score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.