Magic Carousel, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Luigi Zaninelli

Luigi Zaninelli

Subtitle: A Fantasy for Wind Orchestra

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $140.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Blocks (2)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

As the sun rises, the sleeping carousel slowly awakens, welcoming the happy people who have come to enjoy its pleasures. Throughout the day, they ride round and round, smiling and laughing with endless delight. As darkness approaches, the people return to their homes. The carousel slowly stops, and the swans leave their places and begin a languorous dance. Suddenly, the ponies begin a raucous jig, only to be interrupted by the ferocious roar of the lions who majestically dance a regal rag. As dawn appears, the animals return to their places to await the return of those who will, again, come seeking the joy of the Magic Carousel.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Luigi Zaninelli website Accessed 12 March 2018
  • Zaninelli, L. (2017). The Magic Carousel: A Fantasy for Wind Orchestra [score]. C. Alan Publications: Greensboro, N.C.