Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Madding Crowd, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Lansing McLoskey

Lansing McLoskey

General Info

Year: 2007
Duration: c. 18:30
Difficulty: VII (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Odhecaton Z Music (BMI); available from Subito Music
Cost: Parts - $33.95   |   Score - $39.95


C Trumpets I-II (2nd trumpet doubles Cornet, both double Flügelhorn)
Horn in F


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Madding Crowd was a Meet The Composer commission for Triton Brass (Artists-in-Residence at Boston Conservatory, the Tanglewood Institute, Boston College, and MIT). The piece is a sort of hybrid, revolving concerto for brass quintet. Though it unfolds in one continuous movement, it is divided into an introduction and six distinct sections, in which each player is featured as a soloist. Most of the solos include an improvisational component, and are often in "senza misura", i.e in free time, not coordinating precisely with the rest of the ensemble, which is playing in a strict meter. Thus every performance is slightly different, and the solos have a fluid yet virtuosic character.

The Madding Crowd was premiered at Tanglewood in 2007.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer