Lyric for Band

From Wind Repertory Project
George Walker

George Walker (arr. Luci Disano)

General Info

Year: 1946 / 1990 / 2022
Duration: c. 5:25
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: String quartet
Publisher: Kaiser Southern Music, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts - $75.00   |   Score Only - $12.00


  • Full Score
  • Flute I-II
  • Oboe I-II
  • English Horn
  • Bassoon I-II
  • B-flat Clarinet I-II-III-IV
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Cornet I-II
  • Horn in F I-II-III-IV
  • Trombone I-II-III
  • Euphonium
  • Tuba
  • String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Lyric for Band is an arrangement of George Walker’s Lyric for Strings, originally set for string orchestra. Lyric for Strings was composed when Walker was only 24 years old, but it has remained one of his most enduring compositions.

The sound, structure and instrumentation of the piece are all clearly inspired by the famous Adagio for Strings composed by Walker’s Curtis Institute classmate Samuel Barber in 1936. Walker first conceived the music that became Lyric as a middle movement for his first string quartet and originally titled it Lament in dedication to his grandmother who died the year prior. The piece fluidly and dramatically alternates between lush harmonies and stark solo passages which showcase the range of sounds possible in the string orchestra. In an interview not long before his death, Walker commented: “I never played a string instrument, but somehow strings have always fascinated me.” In Lyric, we hear the beginning of this lifelong fascination.

– Program Note courtesy of Charleston Symphony


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer