Lux Prima

From Wind Repertory Project
Franz Joseph Haydn

Franz Joseph Haydn (arr. Ralph Ford)

Subtitle: Come, My Soul, Thou Must Be Awakening

General Info

Year: 1791 / 2008
Duration: c. 2:15
Difficulty: I (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Alfred Music Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $55.00; (digital) - $55.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F
Timpani (optional)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The title Lux Prima translates from the Latin as "first light."

Originally set to music by Franz Joseph Haydn in 1791, the text was written in 1700 by Friedrich R.L. von Canitz. The text was translated from German to English in 1838 by Henry J. Bucknell and in 1872 was set to another theme by John Steiner.

- Program Note from score

This is a lovely musical setting scored in 3/4 time. The flowing tuneful melody is shared by everyone. First stated by the upper woodwinds, the full band gradually builds to a breathtaking conclusion.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

  • Florida: I
  • Louisiana: I
  • Texas: I. Complete


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Menuetto (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Glover) (1795/2019)
  • Trumpet Concerto (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Ring) (1796/2021)

All Wind Works