Luminous Night of the Soul (arr Kotovsky)

From Wind Repertory Project
Ola Gjeilo

Ola Gjeilo (arr. Cameron Kotovsky)

General Info

Year: 2012 / 2019
Duration: c. 4:18
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Choir
Publisher: Kotovsky Arrangements
Cost: Score and Parts - $75.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Tenor Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Timpani I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Marimba I-II
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Set to a new text by Charles Anthony Silvestri as well as a stanza from St. John of the Cross’s poem used in the predecessor to this piece, Luminous Night of the Soul is the sequel to Dark Night of the Soul, which was published in 2011. Both works are independent pieces that can be performed separately, but they are also conceived as two movements of the same work.

- Program Note by composer

I chose to arrange this piece shortly after my sister’s first born, Gwendelynn Fionna, passed away in the womb on January 5th, 2019, four months before her due date. This piece is dedicated not only in the loving memory of Gwendelynn, but to all premature infant deaths. The first half of this piece shows the soft emotional side of life, of birth, of us all as human beings. The second half of this piece shows the fight, the strength, and the perseverance of the human spirit through all adversity, trials and tribulations.

“There is no foot so small that it cannot leave an imprint on this world.”

– Author Unknown

- Program Note by arranger


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Northern Illinois University (DeKalb) Wind Symphony (Cameron Kotovsky, conductor) – 26 February 2020

Works for Winds

Adaptable Music

  • Ubi Caritas (Flex instrumentation) (arr. Kotovsky) (2007/2016/2020)

All Wind Works