Lost Colony

From Wind Repertory Project
Robert Sheldon

Robert Sheldon

This work bears the designation Opus 41.

General Info

Year: 1994
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C L Barnhouse
Cost: Score & Parts - $65.00   |   Score Only - $5.00


Full Score
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
French Horn I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Based on the compelling mystery of the Lost Colony at Roanoke Island, this Robert Sheldon composition is a wonderful choice for either concert or contest performances. Exquisite writing for the woodwinds and skillful use of brass and percussion combine to make this one of this popular composer’s nicest pieces.

Lost Colony was commissioned by the North Carolina Eastern District All-State Band, Greenville, North Carolina.

Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Fauquier Community Band (Warrenton, Va.) (Paul Hicks, conductor) – 19 March 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works