From Wind Repertory Project
Carl Michael Ziehrer

Carl Michael Ziehrer (trans. Jacco Nefs)

Subtitle: Polka schnell, op. 386

General Info

Year: 1887 / 2020
Duration: c. 2:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Symphony
Publisher: Jacco Nefs
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $100.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Solo Trumpet I-II
B-flat Trumpet tutti
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The first performance of the quick polka Loslassen! ("Release" or "Let Go") was at a concert of the Deutschmeister Band on October 7, 1887, in Drehers Etablissement, located at Landstrasser Hauptstrasse in Vienna's third district. For many years this was the scene of Ziehrer's concerts, and Ziehrer was the conductor on this occasion. As to the title of this piece, we do not know what it was meant to illustrate, or what current event it alluded to.

The performance of Loslassen! in the 1980 New Year's concert of the Vienna Philharmonic was a great success, and the polka entered the repertoire, though it is not performed that often.

- Program Note by Jacco Nefs


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer