Lord of the Rings (arr. Lavender)

From Wind Repertory Project
Johan de Meij

Johan de Meij (arr. Paul Lavender)

Subtitle: Excerpts from Symphony No. 1

General Info

Year: 1987 / 2001
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: III-1/2(see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Symphony
Publisher: Amstel, through Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $105.00   |   Score Only (print) - $28.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Tuba (String Bass)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Anvil
  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks (2)
  • Tenor Drum
  • Tom Toms (2)
  • Triangle
  • Whip
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Johan de Meij’s first symphony The Lord of the Rings, based on the famous trilogy by Tolkien, has established itself as a ‘classic’ piece in the concert band piece repertoire. After close consultation with the composer, Paul Lavender has masterfully adapted and condensed three of the original five movements into a practical concert version. The movements are Gandolf, Shadowfax, and Lothlórien.

- Program Note adapted from publisher


State Ratings

  • Kansas: IV
  • Tennessee: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer


  • De Meij, J.; Lavender, P. (2001). The Lord of the Rings: Excerpts from Symphony No. 1 [score]. Amstel Music: Amsterdam, Neth.
  • Johan de Meij website – Accessed 29 June 2022
  • Perusal score