Loch Ness

From Wind Repertory Project
Johan de Meij

Johan de Meij

Subtitle: A Scottish Fantasy

General Info

Year: 1988
Duration: c. 12:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Amstel
Cost: Score and Parts - $129.00   |   Score Only - $35.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
B-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
String Bass
Piano (optional)
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bell Tree
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Block
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Wind Machine
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The symphonic poem Loch Ness consists of five through-composed impressions of this mysterious Scottish Lake.

I) The Lake At Dawn. Calm, static, sonorous blocks depict the troubled opaque water surface and the enormous depth of the lake at daybreak.

II) Urquhart Castle. The rising early morning mist reveals the distant ruins of Urquhart Castle, represented by a solemn theme in the trombones, which is taken over by the full band, thus evoking the illustrious past of this fortress besieged so many times.

'III) Inverness. Bagpipes and Tourists -- the music takes us down to the town of Inverness where the first tourists mark the slow but steady start of a new season to the sound of a Scottish melody.

IV) Storm. Suddenly a heavy weather breaks: fierce gusts of wind and heavy showers transform the erstwhile calm surface into an obscure and whirling mass of water, and clouds rapidly passing over offer an eerie scene...

V) Conclusion. Storm and rain gradually decrease, and when everything is quiet again we are granted a last view of the lake in its full glory.

- Program Note from publisher

The symphonic poem Loch Ness was commissioned by the International Festival in Uster, Switzerland, where it was premiered by the Uster Municipal Band in September 1989.

- Program Note from Program Notes for Band


State Ratings

  • Virginia: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • San Jose (Calif.) Wind Symphony (Craig McKenzie, conductor) - 9 October 2022
  • Lehigh University (Bethlehem, Penn.) Wind Ensemble (David Diggs, conductor)– 17 November 2019
  • Contra Costa Wind Symphony (Walnut Creek, Calif.) (Ben Loomer, conductor) - 2 November 2014
  • National Youth Band of Canada (Jonathan Dagenais, conductor) - 2013

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Johan de Meij website Accessed 15 November 2019
  • Meij, Johan de (1988). Loch Ness: A Scottish Fantasy: For Symphonic Band [score]. Amstel Music: Amsterdam.
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 169-70.